Skip to main content

Legislative Politics -- Resources @ SLC: Congress & Legislation

Congress and Legislation

The U.S. Congress Votes Database

The U.S. Congress Votes Database documents every vote and member of the House and Senate since 1991. Data is pulled from several sources, including the House clerk, the U.S. Senate and the Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress. For the 112th Congress, users can analyze members and votes by various metrics, including caucus affiliations, 2010 margin of victory, and members endorsed by Tea Party Express or Freedom Works during the 2010 campaign. -- website

U.S. Congress legislation, Congressional Record debates, members of Congress, legislative process educational resources presented by the Library of Congress. 

CQ Magazine (Published by Congressional Quarterly) contains reports on the world's most powerful legislative body on a weekly basis. Provides in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap-up of the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Useful links:  Browse articles by topic: Politics and Elections.

The Congressional Record is a substantially verbatim account of the remarks made by senators and representatives while they are on the floor of the Senate and the House of Representatives. It also includes all bills, resolutions, and motions proposed, as well as debates and roll call votes.

 

Congressional Digest, 1921 to present -- Reports on pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration. Includes full-text of all articles.

 

 

Track bills in Congress, your representative’s voting records, upcoming committee meetings, members of Congress. Track legislation in your state. What's on GovTrack?

Congress & The Presidency, 1990 to present -- Feature articles, review articles and book reviews on all aspects of Congress and the Presidency and incorporating policy making, broadly defined; combining the disciplines of history and political science. Includes full-text of articles in Academic Search Complete Database. 

Library of Congress web site that provides full text of bills, resolutions, and laws as well as tracking legislation through the Congressional process.

Indexes Congressional Record via keyword, date, and speaker.101st Congress 1989/90+ and The Congressional Record Index, 103rd +

Loading

Almanac of American Politics -- Members of Congress

Vital Statistics on American Politics, 2015-2016

Books on Congress & Government @ Frank Smith Library Center

Click on the title to see where the book lives on the shelf in the Frank Smith Library.

Congressional Districts in the 2000s: A Portrait of America Presents descripitive and statistical profiles of the 433 congressional districts based on the 2000 census  and subsequent reapportionment and redistricting.

  • Vital Statistics on American Politics 2009-2010, 2011-2012, 2013, 2014, 2015-2016. 
  • Tables and figures on elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of government, and foreign, military, and social and economic policy.  Earlier editions in the Main collection.
  • Congressional Quarterly's Politics in America 2012, 2014
  • Provides an analysis of every lawmaker in the 113th Congress, including biographical data, contact information, election results, and committee assignments. Earlier editions in Main collection
  • CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Almanac  
  • The CQ Almanac is a compendium of legislation from each annual session of Congress and is published every spring. In addition, various special volumes and series are published from time to time. Earlier editions in Main collection. The 2011 & 2012 located on the first floor at Reference 328.73 C76a1
  • Vital Statistics on Congress (free website)
  • Members of Congress, elections, campaign finance, committees, budgeting, voting alignments.
  •  
  •