Skip to main content

Legislative Politics -- Resources @ SLC: Campaign Finance & Special Interest Groups

Private Parties in the Political Process

  • CQ Political MoneyLine: Money In Politics Database Provides searchable information about federal election campaign finance, money donors, political action committees and candidates. Leading independent source of campaign finance information. 
  • Vote Smart A national, non-partisan, non-profit organization that provides voters with factual information on candidates and elected officials. Features congressional voting records. Includes information on the federal government, state governments, political campaigns, elections, candidates, and the issues. It is a good site for data on voting records, issue positions, and interest groups.
  • OpenSecrets.org: The Wesite of the Center for Responsive Politics "The Center for Responsive Politics describes itself as 'a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy.' Opensecrets.org, the Center's Web site, provides information from the Federal Election Commission about campaign contributions to Congress, to the political parties and the presidential campaigns. The site may be navigated by tabs at the top of the web page, by search engines within the site, or by links to current issues. Everything is documented with citations and methodology. The mission statement, contact information, and funding sources are clearly noted. Opensecrets.org is a goldmine of data on contributions in politics, helpful both for students writing papers and for avid followers of politics."  Helpful links : Lobbying Database, Earmarks, Personal Finances, Get Local, and Influence and Lobbying.
  • Federal Election Commission (Campaign Finance Reports and Data) Provides information about federal election contributions, contributors, political action committees and federal candidates. Contributions and images of financial reports updated daily. Useful link: Federal Election Committee.
  • National Institue on Money in State Politics (Follow the Money) Features a searchable database of campaign finance information on candidates and races for states across the U.S. From the National Institute on Money in State Politics.--Website.
  • Public Agenda Online Founded in 1975, this is a nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. It covers topics from campaign finance to social security. Take note of the "red flags" that provide cautionary notes about surveys.
  • Stateline.org If you are tracking campaign finance reform efforts in states around the county, this is a good place to start. Each day, summaries of newspaper articles about reform efforts in various states are posted. Each summary has a link to the full story. Use Advanced Site search to narrow your results. Helpful link: Politics.
  • The Campaign Disclosure Project The Web site for a project "designed to bring greater transparency and accountability to the role of money in state and federal campaigns.  Note:  Last updated in 2008.
  • Lobby Watch (The Center for Public Integrity) The Center for Public Integrity is dedicated to producing original, responsible investigative journalism on issues of public concern in the USA and around the world.  How Much Money Can a Lobbyist Make?

Print Source-- Campaign Finances