The following resources provide information to help you find articles and other items in the Library that focus on legislative issues. Use the TABS above to explore the various types of resources available in and outside the Smith Library Center.
Your instructor may ask you to include "academic, refereed sources, and become familiar with the library and its holdings." Note that "academic," "scholarly" and "peer-reviewed" are synonyms -- all referring to articles that have been written by an academic expert in a field for an academic audience, and that the article has been reviewed by other experts to ensure its worthiness for publication.
Advice on how to evaluate different kinds of periodicals (academic journals, magazines, newspapers, general interest) can be found on the library's LibGuide Finding Scholarly Articles.
Related Research Guides:
The library has subscriptions to databases containing scholarly articles in many subject areas, and articles from popular magazines and newspapers. Databases featured in this box are particularly useful for your Legislative Politics Class.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It is one of many library subscription databases. Popular titles such as Times and Newsweek will be included in this database.
The place to start for poltical science and public policy journal articles. Top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Covers law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information sources, most of them available. National and state (Texas ) newspapers included in the source. Click on the link to the 2016 Presidential Election.
Worldcat@SU has the ability to search for books, audiovisual materials, and journals as well as for articles in our most popular, multi-disciplinary databases (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, and Project Muse).
Have a question? Ask a Librarian. This online FAQ may just have the answer you’re looking for! If not, submit your question and it will be answered by email as quickly as possible Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Outside of regular department hours, questions will be answered within 24 hours or less.
Need more in-depth and personalized assistance? Librarians are available to help you find the articles, resources, and answers you need to get started on that paper or project! We can also help you look for obscure topics or locate books/articles not held in Smith Library's collections. Schedule a Research Appointment!
When is the library open? You can search online at any time! During the school year, you can visit the library 7 days a week. Check the hours first before you visit because they do change.
How do I find items in the library? The library uses the Dewey Decimal System to assign a unique call number to every physical item in the building. The library's collection spans all three floors of the building and is arranged by call number. For assistance finding items in other locations, just ask at the library's InfoDesk on the first floor at the Research Commons.
Accessing SU resources off-campus? This requires you to provide your SU ID and password to authenticate yourself on the server and gain access to the library's paid subscription databases.
Need help writing your paper or citations? In the Cullen Building, you will find help at the Debby Ellis Writing Center
Any student can visit the DEWC for help with papers from a peer writing consultant at any stage of the writing process.
Student Resources for Writing
Of course, the best resource you have for questions about your writing is your professor. And we would always love to see you in the DEWC. Sometimes, however, you need an answer quickly. We hope the following links will be helpful as you work on crafting your paper. If you have an idea for a page that would be useful, we hope you’ll let us know!