Skip to main content

Legislative Politics -- Resources @ SLC: Citations & Writing Help

Style Guides

Various Style guides found in the libraryA style guide, or manual, provides direction on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language.  

Many academic disciplines have their own style guide. Some journals even have their own specific style. Ask your professor what style he or she wishes you to use for your paper/project.

These guides offer guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant communication.

For more information, see the individual tabs for specific styles here, or use the printed style manuals shelved in the library's Research Commons. 

The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is the standard citation style used in physics and some engineering courses.

Loading

Debby Ellis Writing Center

At the Debby Ellis Writing Center, any student can come in for (completely free) help with papers at any stage of the writing process.  The DEWC is always open to students as a study space.

Saving your Research/Printing

How to save/print/organize your research in EBSCO Database Tools:

Screenshot of toolbar in EBSCO with buttons for print, email, save, cite, export, create note, permalink, bookmark

In our EBSCO Databases, which include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and many others, use the tools on the right hand side of the screen. You can email the article to yourself, add it to a folder, or save it to your computer or your flash drive. 

Email:

From the article or article record page, click Email and enter your email address when prompted. You'll get a persistent link or "permalink" to the article sent to you. In the case of full-text articles, clicking the link will bring you to the database where you can read the article in its entirety. If the article isn't available in full text, the link will bring you to the citation information you will need to order the article via Get It! 

Saving:

To save the full text of an article when PDF full text is available: Select the link for PDF full text in the article (located on the left). In the PDF full text article, use your mouse's right button to select "Save as" to save the PDF OR use the print button that will appear at the bottom of the article. 

To save the full text of an article when HTML full text is available: In the article, click the "Save" option in the tools menu on the right. A box will pop up in the center of your screen; be sure "HTML Full text" is selected. Click the yellow Save button. From the next screen, use your browser to save the page (in Internet Explorer, select File-Save as; in Firefox, select File-Save file as; in Chrome, right click and select Save as). This will save the complete HTML file to your computer. 

Add to folder: This option allows you to add articles to a holding folder in the database. You can create a free My EBSCOhost account, which will allow you to sign in from any computer. See the "Sign in" option in any of our EBSCO databases for more information. You can use the folder for your session, but if you close your browser, you'll lose all saved articles UNLESS you had signed into your EBSCO account. Getting an EBSCO account is completely optional and free for students. 

Citing your sources presentation

No Flash plugin installed.