TIP: Clicking this icon will take you back to the Research Hub.
Worldcat@SU is the library's online catalog. Use it to identify printed and electronic books that we own as well as videos, CD's, DVD's, and more. A search by title in the online catalog yields over many titles on your topics. If you find an item that we don't own that you need for your research, use Get it! and we will get the item from a library that does own it.
A few examples of select subject headings relevant to this class are below. Each is a live link directly into the online catalog.
Always ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need--it may simply be a matter of using the right vocabulary.
African Americans Violence against | Minorities in sports | Racism in higher education | Mexicans Violence against Texas History 20th century | Sundown towns | Sex discrimination in sports | Racial profiling in law enforcement | Martin, Trayvon, 1995-2012 | Colorism United States | Race Political aspects | Environmental justice (racism) | Black lives matter movement | Racism in textbooks | United States Race relations 21st century | Police shootings | Race discrimination Law and legislation | Riots Oklahoma Tulsa History 20th century | Eugenics United States History | Race discrimination Psychological aspects | Anti-racism United States | Cricket Political aspects South Africa | Social work with minorities United States
Another way to find articles is to use a database.
WorldCat@SU only finds a fraction of the articles available through our databases. Databases allow you to search specifically for articles. Not only do databases find more articles, they provide more precise search tools than WorldCat, yielding better results.
|
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing mostly full text for journals, magazines and newspapers. A great starting point for research. |
|
|
Multi-disciplinary database containing all full text scholarly articles and books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences. See Sociology Resources on JSTOR Guide. See How to Search JSTOR. |
|
|
Full-text databases covering ethnic issues from full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. The database provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. |
|
|
Authoritative pro/con articles and essays covering current social issues. Includes reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. |
|
|
Provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. |
|
|
Use this sociology research database for sociological perspective. It provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. |
|
|
|
Search and view the full text of thousands of eBooks on different subjects. |
| GenderWatch |
Search articles from journals, etc. that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas such as the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles. |
| Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982. | A digital archive of the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press. |
Note: Always review the reference cited by the authors in the footnotes, endnotes, or a bibliography to locate related research on your topic.
|
Current News Databases |
NYT's Topic pages aggregate useful news, archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video published on the topic in The New York Times. |
| Academic Search Complete | Race and Ethnicity | The New York Times Topic Series |
| Newspaper Source Plus | Discrimination | The New York Topic Series |
| New York Times Online | A Conversation on Race | The New York Times |
| Ethnic Newswatch |
Hispanic Americans | The New York Times Topic Series |
| Web News | Black Lives Matter Movement | The New York Times |
| Google News | |
| Chronicle of Higher Education |
(Code Switch : Race and Identity Remixed) - "We're a team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting."
Equal Justice Initiative - "The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society."
National Museum of African American History and Culture (Smithsonian Institution) - Choose a topic below to begin to dive in more deeply. Talking About Race: Being Antiracist.
Race: Are We So Different, A Project of the American Anthropological Association -- A Look at race through three lenses : History, Human Variation and Lived Experience.
Pew Research Center (Race and Ethnicity) -- "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
Pew Research Center Hispanic Trends -- "The Pew Hispanic Center is nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' ...."
Slavery and Freedom. National Museum of African American History and Culture -- "The exhibition explores the complex story of slavery and freedom..."
The New York Times 1619 Project -- "The 1619 Project is a major initiative from The New York Times observing the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery."
