Skip to main content

FYS: Political Ethics: An Oxymoron?: Introduction to Finding Articles

Research and Library Information for Tim O'Neill's first year seminar.

1. WorldCat Search on the Library's Homepage

 The quickest way to find  the article title is to type the full title in the single search box on SU's Library Homepage. WorldCat will search multiple databases at the same time, presenting you with the article title.  If the article you are searching for does not come up in the search results, try using the Online Periodicals Tab.

  

2. Find A Specific Journal -- Online Periodicals Tab

The Online Periodicals Tab allows you to search by title for journals and newspapers, as well as browse for titles by discipline.  Type the title of the journal in the single search box.  Look down the results page until you locate the correct title.


 

  1. If the SU library subscribes to the journal, then you will see links to databases which contain full text articles with a specific date range
  2. Notice some full text articles are not available online for the current year (full text delay).
  3. Check the date of your citation against the date of the subscription. 
  4. Select the database link that fits your needs.
  5. If we do not have an electronic subscription to the journal, then request the article through GET IT!, our interlibrary loan service.

3. Get the Full Text of the articles you discover from SU's Database Subscriptions


EBSCOhost is a search platform for over 50 databases, from Academic Search Complete to Women's Studies International.

  • Once you've located an article via searching a library database, follow these steps to access the full text:
  • Check to see if there is a link to a PDF Full text or HTML webpage with full text.  If you find a citation in a database without the complete article, the Full TEXT link should direct you to another database which has the complete article. Please look for this symbol EBSCO Full Text Finder
  • Check WorldCat to see if the journal is available in print.
  • If the article is not online AND the journal is not available in print, then use GET IT!

 

4. GET IT! Interlibrary Loan Service

If article is not available at Smith Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use GET IT, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in thereafter.

Once you have an account, either go directly to GET IT! and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a SU database, look for a shortcut link (REQUEST THIS ITEM FROM GET IT!) to automatically enter in the information for you.

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it in your SU campus mailbox.