Skip to main content

FYS: Inside Out – Our Bodies on the Inside and Outside to the World: Start Here

First Year Seminar (FYS)

Inside Out – Our Bodies on the Inside and Outside to the World

Our body is always with us and is part of the story of who we are. What are we on the inside and how did we get that way? First, we’ll uncover how our bodies are the legacy of ancient fish, reptiles and primates - the ancestors you never knew. Then moving from the inside out, we’ll explore and experience a number of topics: where art and music connect with our bodies, with fashion and imagery; the role of our bodies in power differentials among peoples; the association of gender and the body; and spirituality and the human body.

Credo

 To find articles, go to Credo Reference and search for topics your professor has suggested.  You will get a long list of entries in reference books; notice the title of the encyclopedia each article is published in,  as well as the bibliography provided at the end of each article.  You can also continue your research to another library resource, like Worldcat or Academic Search Complete.   Search on the topic "Body Art."

Think of this source as an academic substitute for Wikipedia. 

Visit the Credo Topic Pages featuring additional content around this particular subject area  AND click here to view the CREDO tutorials.

Databases

Because these are topics that cross multiple disciplines or explore problems from multiple disciplinary perspectives, I have listed databases in the humanities, the social sciences, and health sciences. Though academic journal articles covering these issues can be found in resources  from virtually all subject areas,  the databases (general and specialized) below are some of the best places to start for your topic(s). The Smith Library Center subscribes to various databases that, when searched, will yield many articles and essays on this broad subject.  Articles are constantly added to these databases.  A keyword search will yield many academic articles.

Tip: When you view a full record for an article, read the abstract, or summary, to quickly ascertain if it is relevant to your research. 

Selected Books from Smith Library Center

Return to FYS / AES Research Hub

                  

TIP: Clicking Cullen the Parrot will take you to the Research Hub.

Subject Headings

WorldCat is the library's online catalog. Use it to identify printed and electronic books that we own as well as videos, CD's, DVD's, and more. A search by title in the WorldCat online catalog yields over many titles on this broad topic. If you find an item that we don't own that you need for your research, use Get it! and we will get the item from a library that does own it. 

Searching any database requires an understanding of how subject headings are used to describe and organize the items listed. Entering a subject phrase that is not used in a particular database will keep you from finding what you need even if the item is there. A few scattered examples of select subject headings relevant to this class are below. Always ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need--it may simply be a matter of using the right vocabulary.

Click here learn more about the WorldCat.