I Am the Scribe: The Invention of Writing and Books
All speaking humans tell stories, and always have. Some of these stories have fallen into books. This seminar compares different ways songs and stories were written down, to consider why they were written, why they were written differently (or not), and then to try our hand at imitating how they wrote. Along with the study of the content of early manuscripts and books, we will try to make manuscripts by hand, possibly even make our own book printed on a letter press. We want to learn how it feels for an I to write to some other You.
Kings and Rulers
Rama (Hindu Diety) Fiction
Click here for Searchable Database of Longfellow Poems.
Hebrew and Christian epics : Song of Songs by Solomn, Book of Job, Tales of Naomi and Ruth, Revelations, or the Apocalypse, by St. John, island of Patmos.
The Icelandic Saga Database is an online resource dedicated to the digital publication of the Sagas of the Icelanders -- a large body of medieval literature which forms the foundation of the Icelandic literary tradition. This website contains all the extant Icelandic family sagas in an easily readable format using modernized Icelandic spelling, with Old Norse versions and translations into English and other languages made available where these exist in the public domain. -- website
Find links to all the major extant Icelandic sagas. All the sagas are available in Icelandic with modernised spelling, while many are available translated into English or other languages, indicated by the flags below the links
The Online Medieval & Classical Library. A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books movies, software, music and more.
World Cat Local. Single-search access to items from the Southwestern library as well as holdings for other libraries in Texas, the United States and worldwide.
Internet Sacred Text Archive. This site is a freely available non-profit archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language." -- website
is a digital preservation repository. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. For example, Njál's Saga, translated from the old Icelandic, or White Aster: A Japanese Epic.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books, selected library collections and publishers.
Full view: If Google has determined that a book is out of copyright, or the publisher or rightsholder has given Google permission, the entire book from start to finish will be made available. If the book is in the public domain, it will be available for download, saving and printing a PDF version to read.
The site is very intuitive, and you will see the value in accessing so many kinds of literary resources--biography, criticism, reviews, interviews, and primary texts--within a single database.