Skip to main content

Using Sources: Evaluating and Citing Sources: Citation tools

This guide shows students what to do now that they have found information. The main purposes of this guide is to explain how to determine if an item meets their needs and how to incorporate the information into their assignment.

Organizing and Citing your Research

Organizational Tools for Researching

Organizational tools help you to keep track of your research, organize your notes, cite your sources, create a bibliography, and use Style Guides correctly. This page provides information on Zotero, EasyBib, and WorldCat Citation Tools.

Registering an Account

Citation tools are applications which require students to create an account.

Setting up an account allows you to save multiple projects or bibliographies, share them with others, use the notebook tool, and more. You can create your own EasyBib account or log on with Facebook, Yahoo, or Google.
 
If you are using a public computer, be sure to log off when you are finished using your organzational tool of choice!

Basics

Creating Citations 

For more in-depth tips on citing specific types of sources, see the library’s guides for citing a 
book, periodical, or website. 

1. From the library’s website, click on the EasyBib icon. 

 2. Log on with your SU ID number and password.

 3. Log on to EasyBib or Zotero, once you have created your account

4.  Choose the citation style – MLA, APA, or Chicago/Turabian. 

5. Click on the tab for the type of source you are citing – website, book, newspaper, journal, or database. If you are citing a different kind of source, such as a DVD, blog, interview, etc., click on "All other options" tab. 

Style Guides

Various Style guides found in the library

A style guide, or manual, provides invaluable direction on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language.  

Many academic disciplines have their own style guide. Some journals even have their own specific style!

Ask your professor what style he or she wishes you to use on your paper/project.

These guides offer guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant communication.

Visit Southwestern's own Debby Ellis Writing Center webpage for more in-depth information on the writing process, citations, and avoiding plagiarism. 

The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is the standard citation style used in physics and some engineering courses.

Loading

Google App- EasyBib

Introduction to Zotero

Organizational Tool: Zotero

You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages...and so on.

Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites. Whether you need to create footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, or bibliographies, Zotero will do all the dirty work for you. Zotero forums provide extensive support for users just like you!

Adding References using Zotero

 Enter manually

  • From the Zotero window at the bottom of your screen, click on the plus button; 'new item'
  • Select material type
  • Enter information in the pane on the right hand side of the Zotero window

Direct Export from your favorite database (in general)
 

  • Conduct a search and click on the icon at the end of the url on a web site (it will be a book icon, a folder icon, or a paper icon)
  • Item will be saved immediately in your Zotero library. Drag the reference to the appropriate               Zotero folder
  • You can also export a citation using the RIS file option
  • Consult details for specific databases

Write a Paper
 

  • Download the Zotero plug-in for Word; Click 'download' from the Zotero web site to find the plug-in or go here
  • Open Word. The tool bar will be under 'add-ins' on a PC or 'view' 'toolbars' on a MAC
  • Place your cursor in your document where you would like the citation to be
  • Choose the citation style then click 'ok'. A large Zotero search box will appear
  • Search for your citation and hit the return button.
  • To insert the bibliography into the paper, click on the third icon on the tool bar: 'insert bibliography'

Create a Bibliography    

  • Highlight one or more references in your Zotero library
  • Right click or control-click on Macs) to select 'Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)'
  • Select a citation style (APA) for your bibliography format and choose an output format

 

Loading

Introduction to EasyBib

Organzational tool: EasyBib

Online Citation Tool to help you use the documentation style guides for Modern Language Association, American Physcological Association, and Chicago/Turabian 

Using EasyBib, you can create a works cited list and parenthetical (in-text) citations and create a citation automatically (autocite), if it recognizes the book, website, journal article etc. EasyBib has other features, such as a notebook tool that lets you take notes for your project, organize notes, and link them to citations. Watch the video below to learn more about the notebook tool.

Add EasyBib to GoogleDocs simply by selecting it as an "Add-on."

Notebook Tool in EasyBib

WorldCat Citation Tool

Poll for Organizational Tools

I found this page helpful
Strongly Agree: 0 votes (0%)
Agree: 0 votes (0%)
Somewhat: 0 votes (0%)
Not at all: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0