Skip to main content

Race and Ethnicity Studies : Subject Guide: Articles

Frank Smith Library Center has many resources to those researching race and ethnic issues.

Core Databases : Journal and Newspaper Articles

This rich and diverse material allows for an exploration of the following themes:

  • American Indians and the European Powers
  • American Indians and the US Government
  • Indigenous Peoples of Mexico
  • Military Encounters: Conflicts, Rebellions and Alliances
  • Observation, Representation and Cultural Encounters
  • Missionaries and Education
  • Trade
  • Civil Rights Movement

Index for journals, books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 

Full-text database covering ethnic and gender issues.

Covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Digital archive of academic journals and other scholarly content.  Very well respected journals are included in JSTOR.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It is one of many library subscription databases.

Tip: When you view a full record for an article, read the abstract, or summary, to quickly ascertain if it is relevant to your research. 

Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Publishes comprehensive investigations of sustained and emergent themes in the global field of area and ethnic studies. Choose ADVANCED SEARCH for Area and Ethnic studies.

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, including ethnic and racial studies.

Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

Using the advanced search mode, you may browse or search on subject terms (try Native, Indian, or American Indian, for example).

Citations to publications covering Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.

The library has subscriptions to databases containing scholarly articles in many subject areas, and articles from popular magazines and newspapers. Databases featured in this box are particularly useful for this guide.

 

Loading ...

By Category

Journals on Ethnic Studies, Immigration and Race

  • Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology
  • Ethnicity and Health
  • Ethnic and Race Studies
  • International Migration
  • International Migration Review
  • Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
  • Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health
  • Journal of Transnational American Studies

African American Studies Journals

  • Harvard Journal of African American Public Policy
  • Journal of African American History
  • Journal of African Studies
  • Journal of Black Studies
  • Western Journal of Black Studies
  • Black Music Researh Journal
  • Callaloo (Literature of the African Diaspora)
  • Journal of Negro Education

Arab Studies Journal

  • Arab Studies Quarterly

Asian American Studies Journals

  • Asian America Policy Review
  • Hmong Studies Journal
  • Journal of Asian American Studies
  • Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia

Jewish Studies Journals

  • American Jewish History
  • Holocaust & Genocide Studies
  • Journal of Jewish Studies
  • Studies in American Jewish Literature
  • Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies
  • Women in Judaism : A Multidisciplinary Journal (online)

Latin Studies Journals

  • Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies
  • Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences
  • Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
  • Latino Studies

Native American Studies Journals

  • American Indian Culture and Research Journal
  • American Indian Quarterly
  • Ethnohistory
  • Studies in American Indian Literatures
  • Wicazo Sa Review

 

 

 

 

 

Finding News Sources -- Contemporary and Historical

Newspaper Articles

 

We subscribe to multiple databases that index news articles. Sometimes the articles may only be available on microforms. If this is the case, please ask for help at the InfoDesk in the Frank Smith Library Center. image courtesy of http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/