Skip to main content

Revolution, Romanticism, and Realism: Art Resources at UT-Austin

This course surveys the history of European and American art made between approximately 1785 and 1860.

The Benson Latin American Collection

The Benson Latin American Collection is a specialized research library at UT Austin featuring sources from and about Latin America, including rare and hard-to-find books and resources on Latin American art.

The Benson has a large collection of academic periodicals.

CNKI Database for Asian art history periodical articles

The Perry-Castaneda Library (PCL) at UT-Austin provides access to the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) database. Southwestern University students and faculty can use the database at PCL to access full-text Chinese language articles in art history and other disciplines. 

Before going to PCL to search the database, you will need to set up a UT EID, and be authorized at the PCL Courtesy Borrower Desk. Be sure to call before you go to be sure you have everything you need in place and that authorization will be available at the time of your visit.

If SU faculty or students have questions about CNKI or other Chinese materials, they are invited to contact Meng-fen Su, Head Librarian, East Asian Library Program , in PCL 2.302A, or by calling (512) 495-4323.

A list of Chinese databases at UT can be found at http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/titles.php?subject=Chinese+Studies.

The Harry Ransom Center

The Harry Ransom Center at UT has one of the world's leading collections of rare books, manuscripts, photography, film, art, and the performing arts. Its art collection includes drawings, paintings, sculptures, and more, and it specializes in American, British, French, and Mexican art.

The Ransom Center has rotating exhibits that are free and open to the public. It also has a rare copy of the Gutenberg Bible on permenant display. The Reading Room is also free and open to the public, following a brief registration process.


Image of E.E. Cummings 'Self Portrait' courtesy of the Harry Ransom Center, www.hrc.utexas.edu

The UT Austin Fine Arts Library

UT Austin's Fine Arts Library
has a large collection of art and art history resources. It features rotating exhibits from its permanent Art and Art History Collection, plus there's a piano hanging from the ceiling!



Image courtesy of the Fine Arts Library, http://lib.utexas.edu/fal

The Blanton Museum of Art

UT's Blanton Museum of Art holds Central Texas's largest collection of art, holding more than 17,000 works in its permenant collection. It is known for its European paintings and modern and contemporary American and Latin American collections.

Entrance costs only $5 for college students with valid student IDs, and admission is free every third Thursday of the month.