Skip to main content

Revolution, Romanticism, and Realism: Finding images

This course surveys the history of European and American art made between approximately 1785 and 1860.

ARTstor

ARTstor is a database of high quality images of artwork. You can download individual images or use the ARTstor Offline Image Viewer to build a presentation, arrange and caption images, and deliver the presentation in the classroom. You can use Artstor images for any class at Southwestern.

To search ARTstor, click on the "ARTstor Digital Library" icon on the upper right of the homepage:

Once you're on the search page, you have multiple options, including a basic search box, a link to advanced search options, and links for different browsing methods:

Note: If you want to click on a thumbnail image in ARTstor to view it, you must disable your computer's pop-up blocker.

Other Art Image Sites

WorldImages
A database of more than 80,000 images, including artwork, from the California State University IMAGE project.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
An archive of images from collections throughout the world; part of Credo Reference.

Getty Search Gateway

ARTstor Tutorials on YouTube

The ARTstor YouTube channel has instructional videos on registering, searching, downloading, and organizing images.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is a database of art history reference sources, including Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and more. You can search for articles and text, but it also has a great image database

To search for images, look for the "Search for images only" box in the middle of the homepage: