Skip to main content

AES: Going to the Dogs: Resources at Smith Library Center

Dr. Jimmy Smith's and Dr. Laura Hobgood-Oster's Fall 2016 FYS Class

"The more I know people, the more I love my dog." -- Blaise Pascal

Searching :  Because these are topics that cross multiple disciplines or explore problems from multiple disciplinary perspectives, I have listed databases in the humanities, the social sciences, and health sciences. Though academic journal articles covering these issues can be found in resources  from virtually all subject areas,  the databases (general and specialized) below are some of the best places to start for your topic(s).

Relevant Subject Headings Listed below are selected subject headings used to locate resources related to these topics. These subject headings can be used to locate sources in Worldcat and the  journal article databases.

KEY TERMS:  Animal intelligence |  Animal shelters--United States |  Animal welfare--Moral and ethical aspects| Animal welfare--United States | Dogs -- HistoryDogs--Behavior|  Dogs--Behavior--Evolution |  Dog breeds |  Dogs in art  Dog shows--United States--Anecdotes |  Emotions in animals  |Human-animal relationshipsPet loss--Psychological aspectsPet Owners, Psychology | Pit Bull terriers | Dog diseases -- Genetic Aspects | Dogs--folklore | Pets--Social aspects | Dogs--Pedigrees | Veterinary Medicine -- Periodicals | Animal breeding -- Periodicals |Pets--control -- United States | Dogs as laboratory animals | Animals in literature

 
Brush Up on Your Research Skills!: Did you know that we created a Research HUB These TABS will walk you through the parts of finding journal article databases, books, searching/writing help, and more.

Selected Books from the Smith Library Center

Smith Library Center

Dog

The LibGuide serves as a starting point when doing research for your FYS assignment(s). It is intended to identify some of the resources and services available in the Smith Library Center. The TABS at the top of the page will help you navigate between the various sections. All the resources listed on this guide, and many more, can be found on the library homepage.


 

Image:

 AttributionNoncommercial Some rights reserved by ilovealcopop

USA Cable Network Goes to the Dogs

USA Network has signed for another dozen years as home to the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show (roughly 84 years from the dog's perspective). 

"Stump, the Sussex Spaniel, won  Best of Show Westminster"  -- Madison Square Garden -- 2009

Update:

Westminster Dog Show Changing Networks

The event will be broadcast on Fox Sports 1 and Nat Geo Wild as part of a 10-year deal.

July 29, 2015, Wednesday

A comic look at dog show participants (and the pooches who love them). -- WorldCat

Try these sources to read articles.

The library has subscriptions to databases containing scholarly (academic) articles in many subject areas. Databases featured in this box are particularly useful for Going to the Dogs:

Sometimes, you'll see links to relevant articles but hit a "pay wall" asking you to buy those articles. Don't do this! The Library can get you access to these articles for free, either through our database subscriptions or through Get It! (interlibrary loan). It's best to go directly to the library's databases when you know you want to find something scholarly. Or ask a librarian for help. 

Try these sources to read dog stories from the news.

 

 

Finding Newspaper Articles

The library subscribes to multiple databases that index news articles. Sometimes the articles may only be available on microforms. If this is the case, please ask for help at the InfoDesk in the Research Commons. 

  • Dog Owners
  • Dog Fighting
  • Dog Shows
  • Pedigree Dogs
  • Pure-bred Dogs or Purebred
  • Designer Dogs
  • Tethering of dogs
  • Shelter Killing
  • Puppy Mills or Puppy Farms
  • Dog Racing
  • Greyhound Racing
  • Breed Bans
  • Breed-specific Legislation
  • "No-kill" Movement
  • Animals, war use
  • Pet Overpopulation
  • Spay and Neuter Debate
  • Presidential Pets
  • Pets as Family Members

Return to FYS / AES Research Hub

                  

Clicking Cullen the Parrot will return you to the Research Hub.

Scooter, my dachshund

Scooter

Scooter loves to catch frisbees and golf balls. My friend, John Bigley, has a blog about anything and everything dog.